Cherokee Almanac

Wilson Rawls

Woodrow Wilson Rawls was the author of the beloved children’s books “Where the Red Fern Grows” and “Summer of the Monkeys.” A Cherokee Nation citizen from Scraper, Oklahoma, Rawls based his novels on his childhood growing up in the hills of the Cherokee Nation.

More Stories Like This

Media Contact

Leanna Reeder

Public Relations Specialist